Tag Archives: Subject Guides

David Cope Poetry Reading Planned April 12

David Cope Poetry Reading Poster

Mark your calendar for 7:00 PM, Thursday, April 12. Post-Beat poet and Grand Rapids Poet Laureate Emeritus, David Cope, will read from his newest book, The Invisible Keys, New and Selected Poems, as well as from poems that span his bardic career.

The poetry reading will take place on the 2nd floor of Grand Rapids Community College’s  Library & Learning Commons. (140 Ransom Ave. NE, GR, 49503 – building #10 on the campus map).

A long-time GRCC English professor, Cope sparked the poetic imaginations of many of his students. Cope also served as editor of Grand Rapids Community College Display Magazine for many years. Copies of Cope’s book published by Ghost Pony Press will be available for sale at $16.

Open to the public. | Refreshments | Public parking available in the Bostwick Parking Ramp. (# 8 on the campus map).

See our Poetry Subject Guide!David Cope Poetry Reading poster

Leave a comment

Filed under Event, General News, Staff News, Subject Guides

Levinson to Speak on “Fake News in Real Context”

Plan to attend the next program in the  Combating Fake News series when Paul Levinson will discuss his book Fake News In Real Context.  Dr. Levinson will sign copies of his book after the presentation; the LLC has complimentary book copies for GRCC students, faculty and staff (while supplies last) available at the Circulation Desk.  See our Fake News Subject Guide for more information.

  • Tuesday, March 20, 2018Fake News in Real Context cover
  • 1 – 2 pm
  • Library & Learning Commons 2nd – West
  • Refreshments!

Leave a comment

Filed under Event, General News, Learning Opportunity, Subject Guides

Spring Break update

Librarians are on Spring Break, too, but we’re checking Ask-a-Librarian at least once a day until the Library reopens on Monday, March 12.  If you need assistance, send us an Ask-a-Librarian question.  We’ll get back to you!

Don’t know where to get started with your literature search?  Select a Subject Guide tailored to the academic department where you are taking the course. It lists the databases most likely to be of use, lists of periodicals in the field, and a handy link to Citing Sources.

Leave a comment

Filed under Event, Library Services

New Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Films on Demand database screen

Take a look at these neat streaming videos recently added to GRCC’s e-collections! This month, Films on Demand (FOD) added over 300 new videos – on topics spanning: business marketing; careers; communications; criminal justice; environment; ethics;  gerontology;  health; hospitality; psychology; social geography; to, technology.  Videos contain either closed captioning or transcripts, so FOD meets GRCC’s accessibility guidelines.

For more options in streaming video, see the Multimedia & Image Resources Subject Guide.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Collection Development, Database, Staff Favorites, Subject Guides

How to Recognize Fake News Videos Available

Fake News graphicHow to Recognize Fake News is new to GRCC’s streaming video collection. Think of fake news as a disease. Without knowing how to identify and stop its spread, information literacy is at risk, especially among audiences whose critical thinking skills are vulnerable. This video series equips viewers with tools to spot the stories and images that are false, biased, altered or slanted, even those shared by trusted friends or family. Easy tips to detect and check fake news will encourage scrutinizing material for opinion, inaccuracy or misrepresentation. Target audiences learn how to avoid being duped by fake news and may be less quick to click until they know what’s real and what’s not.

For more on this important topic, see the Fake News Subject Guide.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Collection Development, General News, Learning Opportunity, Staff Favorites, Subject Guides