Tag Archives: Subject Guides

What’s on Course Reserve? – For Students

If your textbook isn’t available at the Bookstore, or, you’re waiting for your copy to arrive from an online vendor, don’t fall behind in your assigned reading!  Check to see if the Library has a copy of the textbook that you can use in the LLC until yours is available.  Check here for a Course Listing  – OR –  check here for a listing by professor’s name.  Most academic departments put one copy of their textbooks onto Course Reserve.  If yours isn’t there, ask your professor to place one on Reserve.

Textbooks are not the only titles on Reserve.  Often faculty put personal copies of books, or ask that library copies of books and DVDs go to Reserve.  Questions?  Contact  Library Circulation at 616-234-3872, or, take a look at the Course Reserve Subject Guide.

Student pulling a Course Reserve title for another student's use.

Advertisements

Comments Off on What’s on Course Reserve? – For Students

Filed under Collection Development, General News, Library Services, Subject Guides

New York Times – for Faculty

New York TImes Online platformsLibrarians are delighted to share that we’re continuing with New York Times Online!  Returning users need to reaffirm your logon for this new year’s access.  New or returning users – activate your logon today – for free.

  • Click http://accessnyt.com.
  • Enter Grand Rapids Community College in the [Find school] field.
  • Click [GO] and then click [Create Account] using your GRCC email address and a password of your choice. Follow the screen prompts to activate your Group Pass.
  • Mobile users may download FREE New York Times Apps.
  • After your Group Pass has been activated, you may enjoy access to NYTimes.com from any internet-connected network or location.

NYT provides teacher resources, including: How to Use the Site and New York Times inEDUCATION.

For more on New York Times Online, see our NYT Subject Guide!

Comments Off on New York Times – for Faculty

Filed under Collection Development, Database, General News, Periodicals, Subject Guides

New York Times – for Students!

New York TImes Online platforms

GRCC students have complimentary access to New York Times Online through your GRCC Library!  If you signed up last year, you’ll need to reaffirm your logon for this academic year’s access.  Whether you’re a returning or a new user – activate your logon today – for free! It’s a $110 value.

  • Click http://accessnyt.com.
  • Enter Grand Rapids Community College in the [Find school] field.
  • Click [GO] and then click [Create Account] using your GRCC email address and a password of your choice. Follow the screen prompts to activate your Group Pass.
  • Mobile users may download FREE New York Times Apps.
  • After your Group Pass has been activated, you may enjoy access to NYTimes.com from any internet-connected network or location.

For more on New York Times Online, see our NYT Subject Guide!

Comments Off on New York Times – for Students!

Filed under Collection Development, Database, General News, Subject Guides

New York Times Online to Continue!

New York TImes Logo

This year, the Library & Learning Commons offered access to the New York Time Online on  a trial basis.  We’re excited to announce that the trial has been hugely successful with over 36,650 uses from August through mid-March 2018!  Thanks especially go out to Heather Richards and Mike Light for requesting that we add a national newspaper to our collection – and to the entire Social Sciences Department for going in “halfsies” with us on the trial.  The Library will renew this license and cover the license cost in its entirety in the future!

Classroom faculty and librarians wanted a well-written and researched, real-time, full-image (including photos and cartoons)  national newspaper so students could broaden their understanding of important issues, use as a source to combat “fake news,” and where readers were not constantly hitting the payroll – aka the limit on free articles.  By alerting faculty to the continuance of New York Times Online now, they can plan new lessons knowing that students’ free access is ensured. Faculty can also sign up for a weekly email from New York Times in Education which recently published Over 1000 Writing Prompts for Students!

If you haven’t created your FREE New York Times Online logon, go to the New York Times Subject Guide today and start reading!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Collection Development, Database, General News, Subject Guides

David Cope Poetry Reading Planned April 12

David Cope Poetry Reading Poster

Mark your calendar for 7:00 PM, Thursday, April 12. Post-Beat poet and Grand Rapids Poet Laureate Emeritus, David Cope, will read from his newest book, The Invisible Keys, New and Selected Poems, as well as from poems that span his bardic career.

The poetry reading will take place on the 2nd floor of Grand Rapids Community College’s  Library & Learning Commons. (140 Ransom Ave. NE, GR, 49503 – building #10 on the campus map).

A long-time GRCC English professor, Cope sparked the poetic imaginations of many of his students. Cope also served as editor of Grand Rapids Community College Display Magazine for many years. Copies of Cope’s book published by Ghost Pony Press will be available for sale at $16.

Open to the public. | Refreshments | Public parking available in the Bostwick Parking Ramp. (# 8 on the campus map).

See our Poetry Subject Guide!David Cope Poetry Reading poster

Leave a comment

Filed under Event, General News, Staff News, Subject Guides