Category Archives: Subject Guides

Our Frontliner Dental Hygienists

There are few careers more “in your face” and less socially-distanced than those in the dental professions. This month we celebrate our Dental Hygienist students, grads, and faculty who have so resiliently provided dental care during these past many months.

National Dental Hygienist Month 2021 poster

GRCC’s Library supports dental hygiene and assisting students with special resources (like Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source database and the Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice) found on the Dental Programs Subject Guide.

If working in the field of dentistry interests you, check out the [Dental Careers and Education] tab for more information.

Comments Off on Our Frontliner Dental Hygienists

Filed under Collection Development, Event, General News, Subject Guides

National Coffee Day

There are so many “national days” but this is one I can get behind 100% – National Coffee Day! To support the Secchia Institute for Culinary Education, GRCC’s Library has a great collection of titles on coffee. Titles range from cookbooks like Top Coffee Recipes, to histories like Uncommon Grounds, to the sociology around coffee drinking in The Little Book of Fika: The Uplifting Daily Ritual of the Swedish Coffee Break.

Uncommon Grounds cover

Check the web for local deals on free coffee today – here’s one to get you started. For more, see the Culinary Arts Subject Guide.

Comments Off on National Coffee Day

Filed under Collection Development, General News, Subject Guides

International Day of Peace

The International Day of Peace was established in 1981 by the United Nations General Assembly and since then, Sept. 21st has been designated as a period of non-violence and cease-fire.

UN poster
UN International Day of Peace 2021

When the world seems frenetic and the talk of imminent war highlights the daily news, consider how you might have a part in creating peace. Is there anything an individual can do? If you have ever considered a job that supports peace, David Smith Peace Jobs: A Student’s Guide to Starting a Career Working for Peace might interest you.

Peace Jobs book cover
Smith, David J. Peace Jobs: A Student’s Guide to Starting a Career Working for Peace. Information Age Publishing, Inc, Charlotte, NC, 2016. Logon with your last name and 7-digit Raider number. The Library has this eBook available for an unlimited number of readers.

If you are searching for a career, check out the Careers Subject Guide, or the [Careers and Education] tab available on most academic department Subject Guides.

Comments Off on International Day of Peace

Filed under General News, Subject Guides

Career Shopping?

Lots of students choose GRCC because it’s a great place to affordably try out classes in many different interest areas. If you are “shopping” for a career focus, we recommend Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center database.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is  the place to start your search when you’re  wondering what career is right for you, with information on over 3800 careers.  There are links to current job and internship opportunities, and there’s a career interest assessment tool, too.

You’ll find Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center under “F” on the Library’s Database page, on the Careers Subject Guide, as well as many other Subject Guides.  On-campus networked users can click right into the database.  Off-campus and wireless users must logon with last name and 7-digit Raider number.   Try it today!

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center screen shot
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center

Comments Off on Career Shopping?

Filed under Collection Development, Database, Staff Favorites, Subject Guides

Free New York Times Online

GRCC’s Library provides FREE access to the New York Times Online. NY Times Online is used in classes across campus, including: Business; Culinary Arts; Economics; History; Political Science; Theater; and more!

If you’re new to GRCC, then follow the directions on our NYT Subject Guide to create your account to activate your logon today.  If you’ve already created your logon (it’s good for one year) – take time to stay on top of national and world news.

New York TImes Online platforms

Comments Off on Free New York Times Online

Filed under Collection Development, Database, General News, Periodicals, Subject Guides