Category Archives: Subject Guides

CONNECT Library Faculty Newsletter Published

CONNECT Cover Fall 2021 issue published
Fall 2021 Issue

Every semester, the Library publishes the CONNECT Library Faculty Newsletter to inform professors about new and changed services and collection. We hope you will share this news with your students. Please read our newest issue!

Comments Off on CONNECT Library Faculty Newsletter Published

Filed under Collection Development, General News, Library Instruction, Library Services, Library Technology, Staff News, Subject Guides

New York Times Extras

New York Times extra

GRCC has some “extras” in our New York Times Online license that you will want to try. If you haven’t created your FREE New York Times Group Pass yet, follow the directions on this page.

New York Times Cooking isn’t included in all Passes but it is included in GRCC’s to support the Secchia Institute for Culinary Education students and faculty, as well as other foodies on campus.

New York Times Cooking logo

New York Times Times Machine is a HUGE archive of issues dating back to September 1851. View world history as it happened through the lens of the New York Times. It is used across campus when readers need to find out what people knew about a topic during a certain era.

New York Times Times Machine

The Mini Crossword Puzzle: Our free Mini is a fun mind-bender – the “big” Crossword will cost you $40 a year and is not included in our Pass.

Comments Off on New York Times Extras

Filed under Collection Development, General News, Periodicals, Staff Favorites, Subject Guides

Transfer Fair 2021 & Your Library

Transfer Fair poster

GRCC is hosting a Transfer Fair next Monday and you won’t want to miss it. It’s a great opportunity to meet representatives from multiple schools, and to ask questions about transfer requirements, transfer dates and deadlines. This event isn’t just for students ready to transfer – it’s for everyone who plans to transfer in the future.

Monday, October 18
10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
First Floor Applied Technology Center

To prepare for the Transfer Fair, librarians recommend that you check out the [Careers & Education] tab found on most Subject Guides. That tab includes information about jobs in a particular field, the job market, professional associations, as well as links to top transfer colleges and universities for your chosen major. You should also check out Transfer Out instructions here.

Haven’t figured out what you want to go into? Try the [Careers Interest & Skills Inventories] on the [Careers Subject Guide]. You may be surprised by some of the careers that match your interests and skills.

Comments Off on Transfer Fair 2021 & Your Library

Filed under Event, Subject Guides

TRiO Scholars Present

GRCC Scholars Poster Presentation invitation

You won’t want to miss the GRCC Scholars Poster Presentation this Wednesday, Oct. 13! It’s always interesting to see what each student accomplished during their Summer Research Programs. Upon their return to GRCC, students make poster presentations just like professionals do at conferences.

TRiO Support Services offers several options in their Summer Research Program. Check them out on the TRiO Subject Guide. You’ll be able to pick up program literature at the Poster Presentation, as well as ask students about their experience. Plus, snacks :>

Comments Off on TRiO Scholars Present

Filed under Event, General News, Subject Guides

Our Frontliner Dental Hygienists

There are few careers more “in your face” and less socially-distanced than those in the dental professions. This month we celebrate our Dental Hygienist students, grads, and faculty who have so resiliently provided dental care during these past many months.

National Dental Hygienist Month 2021 poster

GRCC’s Library supports dental hygiene and assisting students with special resources (like Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source database and the Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice) found on the Dental Programs Subject Guide.

If working in the field of dentistry interests you, check out the [Dental Careers and Education] tab for more information.

Comments Off on Our Frontliner Dental Hygienists

Filed under Collection Development, Event, General News, Subject Guides