Banned Books Week: Slaughterhouse-five

To celebrate Banned Books Week 2011, the library will be posting reviews and commentary from college staff about their favorite banned books and why during the celebration.

By Pete Lewandoski
Adjunct Librarian

It’s been a while since I read Slaughterhouse-five, but at the time I remember thinking it was one of the best books I’d ever read. Though a bit unorthodox in style, it still came across as a good read in a literary sense, but more importantly it struck me as a learning experience. I think this was partly due to Vonnegut’s ability to describe the horror of a wartime experience (in particular, the bombing of Dresden) in an approachable, somewhat sideways manner. The other part may have been that my sons were nearing 18. All politics aside, 18 year old males are required to register with the Selective Service System, thus creating an opportunity for both discussion and reflection. Having access to books like Slaughterhouse-five can be part of that process.

But so it goes…

Comments Off on Banned Books Week: Slaughterhouse-five

Filed under General News

Comments are closed.