Tag Archives: Databases

EBSCO System Maintenance, October 19-20

EBSCO, one of GRCC Library’s main database vendors, will be down for maintenance on October 19, starting at 11PM and ending on October 20th at 3AM (total of four hours). For more details, please see below:

Scheduled System Maintenance on 19-20 October 2012

EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance from 19 October 2012 at 11:00 PM to 20 October at 3:00 AM Eastern Time (20 October, 03:00 – 07:00 GMT) on our e-journal full-text access servers.

Direct access to articles from EBSCO’s linking services will be unavailable for the following list of publishers:

National League for Nursing
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP)
Intellect Ltd
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Press (MIT Press)
College of Business and Public Affairs
e-Med
IUPAC
NRC Research Press

Only articles from these eight publishers accessed via A-to-Z TOC Browse, EJS, or SmartLinks+ will be affected. These publishers account for only 80 of our more than 15,000 journals handled by our linking services, so the overall impact to your users should be minimal. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you.

Comments Off

Filed under General News

Michigan eLibrary’s 20th Anniversary Celebration!

By Lisa M. Rabey
Systems & Web Librarian

The Michigan eLibrary, known affectionately as MeL, is one of the things I consider to be as awesome as the invention of sliced bread. MeL not only provides free access to many high end databases to the residents of Michigan, but it also allows for borrowing of materials from any participating library.

To help celebrate its 20th anniversary, the Library of Michigan and MeL will be hosting a gala on tomorrow October 4, from 5 – 7PM, at the Library of Michigan’s building in Lansing. The public is welcome to the event.

For more information, contact the Library of Michigan.

3 Comments

Filed under General News

Library Journal’s top rated databases

By Marcia Lee
Serials Specialist

In recent months, a group of choice librarians and Library Journal reviewers were selected to evaluate databases which exist today for library use. In the end, the finalists were placed in specific categories, highlighting numerous resources of which several can be found right here at your GRCC Library. Below are the databases that made the “Top Database List” in their respective categories and they are available for access right now (requires RaiderLogin off campus):

Best Overall
Credo Reference

Most Ambitious in Scope or Content
Gale Virtual Library
Runner-up: Ebscohost eBooks (Formally NetLibrary.)

Most Elegant Runner-up: Oxford Art Online
Best Original Content Runner-up: CQ Researcher
Patron’s Favorites Runners-up: JSTOR and Naxos Music Library

To view a full list of the databases we offer alphabetically, click here. (We also offer the option of searching for databases by subject area.) We do our best to provide you with the most up-to-date & quality resources we possibly can, so although many of our databases did not “make the cut,” don’t doubt for a second that they aren’t just as useful for your research. Check them out today! :)

To view the rest of the finalists & runner-ups, click here.

Comments Off

Filed under General News